MAVO LiScell

Overview#

Principle of a lithium-sulfur battery cell
© Fraunhofer IWS Dresden
Principle of a lithium-sulfur battery cell
Thermal characterization of a pouch cell
© Fraunhofer IVI Dresden
Thermal characterization of a pouch cell

The efficient storage of electric energy is a bottleneck for all mobile electric applications. Battery usage is significantly limited by weight and costs per kWh storage capacity. Current lithium-ion batteries do not only limit the range of electric cars to no more than 150 km, they also make up the largest part of the total manufacturing costs. Accordingly, there is a pressing demand for novel storage systems with higher energy densities and lower costs.

Apart from lithium-air systems, which are still in a state of early basic research, there is now an increasing interest in lithium-sulfur batteries (Li-S). Here, specific energy densities of more than 600 Wh/kg are expected and in addition, the expensive cathode material of lithium-ion cells is substituted by sulfur, which is less expensive, non-toxic and available in virtually unlimited quantities. In previous developments for Li-S batteries lithium-metal anodes were applied, a material which is extensively responsible for low lifetime and safety risks.

Project aims#

Lithium-sulfur pouch cell
© Fraunhofer IWS Dresden
Lithium-sulfur pouch cell

Within the framework of the MAVO LiScell battery cells, based on novel cathodes, electrolytes and anodes will be developed. Research work focuses on scalable manufacturing processes for anodes and cathodes as roll material as well as on material development.

The scientists aspire to storage densities of >400 Wh/kg, charging cycle stabilities of more than 1000 and a high intrinsic cell stability for this novel cell type. Low cost manufacturing processes for the components as well as for the complete module are targeted to demonstrate the extraordinary potential of the LiSCell technologies for overall competitive battery costs.

Project duration#

01.06.2014 - 31.05.2017

MAVO LiScell

Überblick

Funktionsprinzip einer Lithium-Schwefel-Batteriezelle
© Foto Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Funktionsprinzip einer Lithium-Schwefel-Batteriezelle

Thermische Charakterisierung einer Pouchzelle
© Foto Fraunhofer IVI Dresden

Thermische Charakterisierung einer Pouchzelle

Die effiziente Speicherung elektrischer Energie ist der Flaschenhals für alle mobilen elektronischen Anwendungen. Gewicht und Kosten pro kWh Speicherkapazität der Batterie begrenzen maßgeblich den Einsatzbereich eines Produktes. Für die Elektromobilität verursacht der Speicher zum einen den Großteil der Gesamtkosten des Fahrzeugs, obwohl durch die Lithium-Ionentechnologie die Reichweite von Voll-Elektroautos bislang auf ca. 150 km beschränkt ist. Dementsprechend groß ist der Bedarf an neuen Speichern mit höherer Energiedichte und geringen Kosten.

Neben Lithium-Luft-Systemen, die noch Gegenstand der frühen Grundlagenforschung sind, wächst das Interesse an Lithium-Schwefel-Batterien (kurz: Li-S). Spezifische Energiedichten von über 600 Wh/kg werden für Li-S-Zellen zukünftig erwartet und zugleich wird das teure Kathodenmaterial der Li-Ionen-Zellen durch kostengünstigen, ungiftigen und nahezu unbegrenzt verfügbaren Schwefel abgelöst. In bisherigen Entwicklungen zu Li-S-Batterien werden überwiegend Li-Metallanoden eingesetzt, die maßgeblich für die geringe Lebensdauer und Sicherheitsrisiken dieses Zelltyps verantwortlich sind.

Projektziele

Lithium-Schwefel-Pouchzelle
© Foto Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Lithium-Schwefel-Pouchzelle

Im Rahmen der MAVO LiScell sollen Batteriezellen auf der Basis von neuer Kathoden, Elektrolyten und Anoden entwickelt werden. Neben der Materialentwicklung werden skalierbare Herstellungsverfahren für Anoden und Kathoden als Rollenware betrachtet.

Speicherdichten von > 400 Wh/kg, eine hohe Ladezyklenstabilität von über 1000 Zyklen und eine hohe intrinsische Zellsicherheit werden für diesen Zelltyp angestrebt. Die zugrundeliegenden Herstellungsprozesse für die Komponenten als auch das gesamte Modul sollen dabei das Potenzial für wettbewerbsfähige Modulkosten aufweisen.

Projektlaufzeit

01.06.2014 - 31.05.2017